skip to main content

Opinder Sahota,  MB, ChB, FRCP, DM, FHEA

Professor in Ortho-Geriatric Medicine & Consultant Physician



QMC, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust and the University of Nottingham, UK



Regional/National Appointments

  • Lead clinician ortho-geriatric medicine NUH
  • NIHR HS&DR researcher led committee member (2015-2019)
  • NICE working groups (CG 124-2011, QS 16-2012 and CMG 46-2012)
  • NICE Falls QS (2014-15)
  • NICE Acute Medicine Clinical Guideline committee (2015-2017)
  • NICE Fellow (2017-20)
  • Royal College of Physicians (RCP)Academic and Research Committee (2018-current)
  • RCP-FLS Database Committee member (2018-current)
  • British Geriatrics Society representative Vertebral Fracture Working group Royals National Osteoporosis Society, UK



  • Fragility Fracture Global Network (FFN)
    -Scientific Committee Board member
    -Chair for the Vertebral Fracture Specialist Interest Group


Research interest

  • Vitamin D, Osteoporosis, Trauma in Older People,


National Awards / Recognition

  • Young Investigators Award, National Osteoporosis Society (3 consecutive years)
  • Technological Innovations Award ‘Midlands and East of England’, Department of Health-Health & Social Care Awards, 2005
  • National Winner ‘Hospital Doctor of the Year’, Department of Health-Health & Social Care Award, 2005
  • Inspirational and Leadership Award, NHS Institute of Innovation and Improvement, 2006
  • National BUPA ‘Care Award’, in recognition for Excellence in the Development of Care for Older People, 2006
  • Short-listed finalist HSJ Awards-Implementing NICE guidance, 2007
  • Picker Institute Award-Improving patient care, 2010
  • Short-listed finalist HSJ Awards -Clinical Leader of the Year, 2012
  • National Winner-NHS Leadership Recognition Awards-NHS Leader of the Year, 2012
  • Winner Research Innovation Award-2015, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust
  • National Finalist HSJ Awards-Medicine Optimisation Category 2017
  • National Finalist Royal College of Physicians,  Excellence in Patient Care Awards 2020


Research Profile